• Annual Book Awards

    ALA stands for American Library Association. They have the most well-known awards, some of which are also the oldest. The Newbery was started in 1921 for the most distinguished book of American literature for children. It is usually a novel and awarded to the author. The Caldecott began in 1938 and is given to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book of the year. Both awards also give a few honor awards for "second place".


     Newbery & Caldecott

    In recent years several new awards and notable lists have been been developed with more specific criteria and/or subject matter depending on the organization's interests. Our school libraries all contain numerous award winning titles.











    ALA Notable Books

                       Griffin Award          

            Sid Fleischman Award

                       Teacher's Choice Award

                                  Scott O'Dell Award

                  Christopher Award

     Social Studies Award

                          Language Arts Award

    Arab Book Award

               National Book Award

                             Bank Street Awards

            Boston Globe Awards